Free Shipping On Orders Over $100 (U.S. Orders – 48 States) ×

Round 8 Finale of the Formula Drift Championship Leads to Wild Finish!



Round 8 Finale of the Formula Drift Championship Leads to Wild Finish!

The 2016 Formula Drift Championship season came to an exciting conclusion this past weekend, holding its final round of the season was held at the famous Irwindale Speedway or, as those in the know call it, the “House of Drift”. The sold out event was sold out and had over 600,000 online viewers watching from all over the globe!


Thirty-two drivers prepared themselves in hopes of winning the final race of the season, but everyone’s eyes were focused on four drivers, each with a chance to win the sought after 2016 Formula Drift Title. Two-time champion Chris Forsberg led the championship standings with Fredric Aasbo, past champion Vaughn Gittin JR., and Aurimas “Odi” Bakchis all giving chase. With a 36-point lead over second, Forsberg, driver of the NOS Energy Drink Nissan 370 Z, had a solid lead coming into the final round. That lead was soon in question as Forsberg had an upset during his run against Patrick Mordaunt. Forsberg lost control and hit the outside wall preventing him from finishing the competition, giving Aasbo and Gittin a small glimmer of hope. They both battled hard for a shot of grabbing first in points. Unfortunately, Gittin was knocked out of the top 32 early, leaving Aasbo for a chance at the championship title. Aasbo, heading for an upset title win, made contact with Matt Field, preventing him from advancing to the next round. This gave Forsberg his 3rd championship title since Bakchis was too far behind in points.


Now that the crown of the 2016 Formula Drift Championship had been settled on a winner,  the question remained on who would win the event at Irwindale Speedway. The final battle came down to aFe POWER sponsored Dai Yoshihara in his Subaru BR-Z, and Matt Field, driver of the Gears of War 4 Nissan S14. The final battle was a nail bitter as both teams wanted to win and finish the season on a high note. The stage was set for both drivers, in a two out of three face-off that would determine who would take home first place. Yoshihara was victorious in the first run, but he needed to come out on top again to take home the win. As Yoshihara mimicked every move Field made, a victory for Yoshihara looked obvious. Unfortunately, Yoshihara’s power steering broke on his second run, sending the aFe POWER sponsored BR-Z into the wall and cutting the run short. Field went on to win the season finisher of the Formula Drift series. While Yoshihara crashed, he still finished strong in second place at Irwindale Speedway, wrapping up the season in great stride taking 6th place in points.

Photo:  Valters Boze,

If you own an FR-S or BR-Z and want to unleash it's full potential. Contact our team of performance experts at 888-901-7693 or order online at

Scion FRS-BRZ takeda CF intake kit 1
Scion FRS and BRZ headers 1
Scion FRS and BRZ throttle body spacer 1
Scion FRS-BRZ exhaust canister 1

Magnum FLOW OER High Performance Filter

Takeda Momentum Carbon Fiber Intake

Takeda Torque Booster Tube

(Also Available in Black or Red)

Silver Bullet Throttle Body Spacer

Twisted Steel Long Tube Header

Takeda Cat-back Exhaust System

Leave a Reply

Please wait...

Item has been added to your shopping cart

Keep Shopping

View Shopping Cart

Item has been removed from your shopping cart

Keep Shopping

View Shopping Cart